Planning Commission


  • 6:00 p.m.
  • 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month
  • Town Offices
    81 Main Street
    Downstairs Conference Room
    Essex Junction, VT 05452
  • From a computer or mobile device, use the meeting link and choose the option for your web browser (Chrome recommended) or the Zoom app (download from Zoom). For general instructions on using Zoom, see this document.
  • Call in with a phone to 1-888-788-0099 and use the Meeting ID 950 9840 0813# and the Passcode 426269
  • Public wifi is available at the Essex municipal offices, libraries, and at hotspots mapped by the VT Public Service Dept.

Resource Preservation District – Industrial (RPD-I) Planning

The Planning Commission is revising the Town Plan and as a part of that, they want to discuss the future of the RPD-I. It has been a while since uses and general zoning has been discussed in the district. In 2019 over 450 residents were part of a visioning project related to recreation and forest management in Saxon Hill. The Planning Commission would like to hear from you about your thoughts about the RPD-I as part of the Town Plan update process.  The PC heard from the public during their June 8 PC meeting and wants to continue the discussion.  Currently, the next meeting is scheduled for the PC’s 6:00 pm June 22 meeting. Below you can find some helpful information about the district and the last conversation (June 8 draft minutes and the video of the meeting via YouTube).

Settlement Agreement between the Town and Allen Brook Development
RPD-I Zoning Regulations
Zoning Definitions- Article VIII
June 8, 2023 Draft Minutes
June 8, 2023 Meeting Video 
June 22, 2023 Listening Session - RPD-I District
June 22, 2023 Listening Session Draft Minutes - RPD-I District 

Join Planning Commission Meeting via Zoom

Videoconference optionVideoconference Opens in new window

Phone / audio-only option

Dial: +1 888-788-0099
Meeting ID: 923 7777 6158#
Passcode: 426269

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Planning Commission is composed of seven members, the majority of which are residents of the town, who are appointed by the Selectboard for four year terms. The Commission is responsible for preparing, maintaining and amending the municipal plan, zoning regulations and subdivision regulations; undertaking reviews under these regulations; participating in the review of applications under Act 250; and conducting studies and making recommendations on the following:

  • Design
  • Energy conservation
  • Historic and scenic preservation
  • Land development and redevelopment
  • Natural resource protection
  • Transportation

Minutes Availability

Many residents have inquired about the delay in posting the minutes from previous meetings of the Boards and/or Commissions. We request that you understand there can be delays between the respective Board or Commission approving the minutes, the Recording Secretary typing them, and their transfer to the webmaster for upload to the website. If you feel you need to obtain the information quicker than its posting here, please email Sharon Kelley. Thank you.

Planning Commission Meetings are aired on CCTV Town Meeting TV on the second Friday following the meeting at 8 p.m, then repeated on Saturday at 1 a.m, 7 a.m, and 1 p.m. The Planning Commission meetings are aired a week later on the same time and day schedule.

Commission Members

Dustin Bruso, Chair
Joshua Knox, Vice Chair
John Mangan, Clerk
Georgia Lavigne

Daniel Parkins

Johnathan Schumacher

Trefor Williams
Paula Duke, Alternate


To contact members of the Planning Commission, please send your inquiry to:

Community Development Department
Mail or in person at the Town Offices, 81 Main St.

Act 250 Information

Permits under Act 250 (The Vermont Land Use and Development Act) are reviewed by the State of Vermont Natural Resources Board. Act 250 applications submitted might have a hearing, depending on the scale and specifics of the project. Parties who can participate (other than the municipality and state agencies) are abutters and persons who have applied for party status to the District Commission orally or in writing citing specific interests under the Act 250 criteria. For questions regarding Act 250 in Essex, contact the District 4 Office of the Natural Resources Board.